Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Richardson Racing’s James Taylor takes pole at Brands

Richardson Racing’s James Taylor takes pole at Brands

by Bethonie Waring

James Taylor took pole for the opening Ginetta Junior race of the season in a red flag disrupted qualifying.

Damp conditions at Brands Hatch meant many drivers struggled to find grip. Early on, a number of drivers span at Paddock Hill Bend, with Ben Kasperczak becoming stuck in the gravel and bringing out the first red flag of the session.

Kasperczak was able to get back out when action resumed but, just three minutes later, the session was stopped again as Daniel Gale ran off at Paddock Hill Bend in an almost identical incident.

Taylor was already top of the times after the early laps, ahead of James Hedley and Gus Burton.

Douglas O’Sullivan jumped up to the top of the order once the track turned green again, a 1m05.060s lap around the Indy circuit putting him clear of Taylor. But the Richardson Racing driver soon bounced back, becoming the first driver to set a time quicker than 1m05s.

Lorcan Hanafin jumped up to second with his final lap of the session, but it was still 0.8s slower than Taylor.

O’Sullivan finished third, but his second fastest lap time puts him on pole for the second race of the weekend, with Hanafin starting alongside him.

Ethan Hawkey and Burton finished fourth and fifth.

Late improvements from other drivers dropped Hedley to sixth, ahead of Casper Stevenson and Will Martin, who starts third in race two.

Harry Dyson and Theo Edgerton rounded out the top 10.

The first race of the season is scheduled to take place at 17.05 this evening, though the two red flags mean the meeting is currently behind schedule.


Name Number Team Time
James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing 1m04.124s
Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport 1m04.998s
Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport 1m05.060s
Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing 1m05119s
Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport 1m05.157s
James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport 1m05.170s
Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing 1m05.205s
Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 1m05.230s
Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy 1m05.321s
Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing 1m05.357s
Roman Bilinski 55 In2Racing 1m05.521s
Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport 1m05.598s
Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy 1m05.662s
Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing 1m05.747s
Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport 1m05.806s
Charlie McLeod 37 Premiership Academy 1m06.089s
Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing 1m06.223s
Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport 1m07.349s
Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing 1m07.486s
Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing 1m07.635s
Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing 1m07.794s
Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport 1m07.804s
Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing 1m08.178s
Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy 1m08.178s
Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing No Time

Second Fastest Times

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: