Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Taylor takes lights to flag victory in wet season opener

Taylor takes lights to flag victory in wet season opener

by Bethonie Waring

James Taylor took his maiden Ginetta Junior victory in treacherous conditions during the opening race of the season.

After a damp qualifying, the Brands Hatch Indy circuit was even wetter for the race, but Taylor stayed in control of his car – and the race – to take a lights to flag win.

Taylor was challenged off the line by Ethan Hawkey, who made a strong start from fourth on the grid. The Total Control Racing driver pulled alongside Taylor, taking the outside line at Paddock Hill Bend, but lost control of his car in the slippery conditions and beached his Ginetta in the gravel.

The safety car was called to neutralise the field as Roman Bilinski also beached his car further down Hailwoods Hill. Bailey Vosin also suffered a half spin, dropping to the back of the field, while Ethan Brooks managed a complete 360 while behind the safety car.

Racing resumed with Taylor leading Douglas Motorsport duo Lorcan Hanafin and Gus Burton.

Taylor was able to pull away from the rest of the field as Hanafin, Burton, and Zak O’Sullivan battled for the podium positions, but came under pressure from O’Sullivan in the closing laps.

O’Sullivan ran out of laps before he could make a move on the Richardson Racing driver, and Taylor took the victory by half a second.

Hanafin dropped down the order after he span and hit the tyre barriers. Another safety car was avoided as the Douglas Racing driver bounced off the barriers and managed to keep going, crossing the line P9.

Burton also suffered from a late race mistake, running wide on the penultimate lap and dropping to fifth.

The mistakes allowed James Hedley to take the final podium paying position, though he finished three seconds behind Taylor.

Theo Edgerton took fourth, ahead of Burton, Will Martin, and Casper Stevenson.

Tom Emson, Hanafin, and Harry Dyson rounded out the top 10.

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing 20m50.387s (16 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +0.595s
3 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +3.123s
4 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +4.113s
5 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +5.210s
6 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +6.754s
7 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +7.441s
8 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +7.652s
9 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +11.795s
10 Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +14.962s
11 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing +15.195s
12 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +15.154s
13 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +19.107s
14 Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +33.398s
15 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +36.721s
16 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +40.469s
17 Charlie McLeod 37 Premiership Academy +54.434s
18 Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing +57.426s
19 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +1m04.286s
20 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +1m08.740s
21 Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing +1 Lap
DNF Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +15 Laps
DNF Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +16 Laps
DNF Roman Bilinski 55 In2Racing +16 Laps


Image Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: