Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Emson wins in chaotic Brands Hatch race 2

Emson wins in chaotic Brands Hatch race 2

by Bethonie Waring

Tom Emson claimed his maiden Ginetta Junior victory in a photo finish at Brands Hatch.

The Elite Motorsport snatched the lead Lorcan Hanafin in the closing stages of the race, but was kept under pressure until the chequered flag.

On the final lap, Emson, Hanafin, and James Hedley were running side by side. Hanafin looked as if he might have the advantage but Emson kept his foot down to take the win just 0.073s ahead of Hedley, with Hanafin a further 0.06s back.

The race started in typical Ginetta Junior carniage. Hedley collided with Gus Burton on the opening lap, which bunched up the cars behind him a triggered a number of incidents further out. Burton was forced into the pits and out of the race, as was Joel Pearson, but Hedley managed to continue at the back of the field.

The safety car had already been called when Zak O’Sullivan and Theo Edgerton collided, O’Sullivan running into Edgerton as he tried to return to the track after running wide.

By the time the order had settled behind the safety car, six drivers had retired.

Will Martin was second when racing resumed and immediately began to challenge Hanafin for the lead, but ran wide as he tried to get alongside the Douglas Motorsport driver and dropped back to fourth. He continued to fight at the front of the field until he ran straight on at Paddock Hill Bend with an apparent steering problem in the closing stages of the race.

Race one winner James Taylor spent most of the race at the front of the field and had been running third, just behind the battling Emson and Hanafin on the final lap, but ran off into the gravel, hitting the barriers and bringing an early end to his race.

Despite the early chaos, Edgerton was able to recover to finish fourth and top rookie, ahead of Ethan Hawkey and Harry Dyson.

Josh Rattican, Martin, O’Sullivan, and Frankie Taylor rounded out the top 10.

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport 20m07.262s (17 laps)
2 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +0.073s
3 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +0.133s
4 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +5.351s
5 Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +10.128s
6 Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +12.296s
7 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing +14.473s
8 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +14.724s
9 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +14.979s
10 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +15.142s
11 Roman Bilinski 55 In2Racing +16.428s
12 Charlie McLeod 37 Premiership Academy +30.485s
13 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +35.340s
14 Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +39.059s
15 Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing +45.582s
16 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +54.439s
17 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +1m01.670s
18 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +1m11.662ss
DNF James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +1 Lap
DNF Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +16 Laps
DNF Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +17 Laps
DNF Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +17 Laps
DNF Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +17 Laps
DNF Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing +17 Laps
DNF Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +17 Laps

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: