Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Bilinski triumphs after early red flag

Bilinski triumphs after early red flag

by Bethonie Waring

Roman Bilinski held off a late charge from James Hedley to take his maiden Ginetta Junior championship victory in the opening race at Donington Park.

The pole sitter initially lost positions when he ran wide on the opening lap, but the start was abandoned when a number of cars crashed at Red Gate, bringing out the red flags.

Of those caught up in the incident, Ethan Brooks, Ethan Hawkey, and Daniel Gale retired, while Tom Emson spent a lap in the pits before rejoining a lap down.

On the second start, Bilinski was able to hold off attacks from fellow front row starter Zak O’Sullivan, who then fell under pressure and was passed by Hedley.

Bilinski managed to pull away from the field in the first half of the race, but a series of fast laps put Hedley back on his tail.

Hedley pushed hard to try to find a way through but Bilinski defended well to take the chequered flag 0.263s ahead of the championship leader.

After losing second to Hedley, O’Sullivan fell back into the battle for third with Lorcan Hanafin and Theo Edgerton. Hanafin span, dropping down the order and sending other scrambling to avoid him.

O’Sullivan finished third, five seconds behind Hedley and five seconds ahead of Edgerton in fourth.

James Taylor, who had trouble on the green flag lap and was unable to take his grid position, climbed back up to fifth, ahead of Gus Burton, Josh Rattican, and Casper Stevenson.

Hanafin recovered to finish ninth.

There was late drama for Harry Dyson when he made contact with Ben O’Hare in the closing stages of the race. O’Hare, who had come into the pits under the red flag despite not being involved in any incidents, ran over the grass and into the barrier, bringing his race to an end four laps before the chequered flag. Dyson managed to continue to round out the top 10.

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Roman Bilinski 55 In2Racing 11m34.338s (8 Laps)
2 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +0.263s
3 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +5.712s
4 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +10.885s
5 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +21.616s
6 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +23.245s
7 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing +23.419s
8 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +23.717s
9 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +23.987s
10 Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +26.354s
11 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +30.324s
12 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +30.704s
13 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +34.250s
14 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +39.757s
15 Charlie McLeod 37 Premiership Academy +40.111s
16 Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing +43.158s
17 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +45.460s
18 Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing +53.440s
19 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +1m03972s
20 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +1 Lap
DNF Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +3 Laps
DNF Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +8 Laps
DNF Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +8 Laps
DNF Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +8 Laps

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: