Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Taylor takes second win at Donington Park

Taylor takes second win at Donington Park

by Bethonie Waring

James Taylor claimed his second win of the 2019 Ginetta Junior season less than a tenth of a second ahead of championship leader James Hedley.

The pair were battling throughout the race, challenging pole sitter Roman Bilinski off the line and going three-wide with the In2Racing driver. Contact between Hedley and Bilinski gave Taylor the advantage as Hedley ran wide and dropped down the order.

 Taylor briefly came under pressure from Lorcan Hanafin before the safety car neutralised the field with just two and a half minutes on the clock. On the restart, the Richardson Racing driver made a strong start and left Hanafin battling with Hedley for the runner up position.

In the closing stages of the race, Hedley found a way past Hanafin and rapidly closed the gap to Taylor. Taylor defended well, holding off Hedley as he tried to make a daring move around the outside, and finished just 0.024s ahead of the Elite Motorsport racer.

Hanafin dropped down the order on the final lap to finish sixth, with Gus Burton taking the final podium position ahead of Theo Edgerton and Will Martin.

After a promising start, Bilinski’s race came to an early end after contact with another driver sent him into the gravel. Simultaneously, in a separate incident, Frankie Taylor ran off at Copice, bringing out the safety car.

Casper Stevenson took seventh, ahead of Zak O’Sullivan, Josh Rattican, and Ethan Hawkey.

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing 20m23.300s
2 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +0.024s
3 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +2.563s
4 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +3.225s
5 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +3.467s
6 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +3.891s
7 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +4.012s
8 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +5.078s
9 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing +5.437s
10 Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +5.798s
11 Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing +6.112s
12 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +6.257s
13 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +6.640s
14 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +10.080s
15 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +10.397s
16 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +11.584s
17 Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +11.960s
18 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +12.769s
19 Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing +13.197s
20 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +13.741s
21 Charlie McLeod 37 Premiership Academy +14.312s
22 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +19.235s
DNF Roman Bilinski 55 In2Racing +7 Laps
DNF Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +7 Laps
DNF Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +8 Laps

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: