Hedley claims lights-to-flag victory at Thruxton

James Hedley converted pole to victory in the second Ginetta Junior race of the weekend at Thruxton.

The Elite Motorsport driver made a strong start, but came under pressure from Zak O’Sullivan in the second half of the race.

The pair ran nose to tail but Hedley didn’t give O’Sullivan any opportunity for a move. Despite O’Sullivan practiceally touching Hedley’s bumper, the championship leader held on to take maximum points for race two at Thruxton.

Casper Stevenson enjoyed a quiet race to take third, his first podium finish of the year, ahead of Ethan Hawkey.

A number of drivers ran into trouble on Britain’s fastest race track. Lorcan Hanafin had been battling Gus Burton for fifth before spinning by himself. The Douglas Motorsport driver came to a stop on the grass, facing backwards, before rejoining down the order in P16.

He managed to make up a few positions before he and Ben O’Hare ran off a few laps later, and Hanafin took the chequered flay 16th.

Burton held on to fifth, ahead of Roman Bilinski, Tom Emson, and Josh Rattican.

Theo Edgerton and Joel Pearson rounded out the top 10

Championship contender James Taylor also enjoyed another difficult race. After a poor qualifying, the Richardson Racing driver started ninth and struggled to make up any positions on the opening lap. He fell even further back when he span after contact with Harry Dyson.

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport 18m35/354 (12 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +0.305s
3 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +4.982s
4 Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +6.948s
5 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +7.167s
6 Roman Bilinski 55 Privateer +16.097s
7 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +19.565s
8 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing +20.494s
9 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +25.458s
10 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +25.916s
11 Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +26.147s
12 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +39.209s
3 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +43.075s
14 Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +45.322s
15 Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing +50.674s
16 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +52.951s
17 Charlie McLeod 37 In2Racing +57.032s
18 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +57.114s
19 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +57.376s
20 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +57.651s
21 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +58.169s
22 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +1 Lap
23 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +1 Lap
DNF Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing +10 Laps



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close