Martin dominates Thruxton opener

Will Martin took a dominant victory in the opening Ginetta Junior race at Thruxton.

The Richardson Racing driver spent the first half of the race battling the fast starting Ethan Hawkey. Hawkey, who started seventh, put up a good defence, but Martin found a way through and quickly pulled away from the Total Control Racing driver as Hawkey was pulled into a battle for second.

Martin would be unchallenged throughout the second half of the race and finish more than six seconds ahead of the battle for P2.

At least five drivers occupied second throughout the race. Hawkey initially came under pressure from James Taylor, but was soon joined by Lorcan Hanafin and Zak O’Sullivan. The four drivers swapped place on numerous occasions, with Hawkey, O’Sullivan, and Hanafin eventually breaking away to make it a three-way fight.

With positions changing on every lap, it came down to who had the advantage on the final circuit. Zak O’Sullivan slipped ahead of Hawkey to take second at the chequered flag, just eight tenths of a second ahead of the man who led much of the race.

Pole sitter James Hedley fell back to eighth on the end of lap one, and spent the rest of the race in the train of cars battling for the mid-top-10, with championship rival Taylor often at the lead of the train.

Hedley slowly climbed back up the order, picking off drivers until he could get to the front of the train. Once in clear air, Hedley rapidly closed the gap to the battle for the podium positions, putting Lorcan Hanafin under pressure in the closing stages of the race.

With the fastest lap of the race, Hedley took fourth, ahead of Gus Burton and Lorcan Hanafin.

Tom Emson finished seventh, with Josh Rattican, Harry Dyson and Casper Stevenson rounding out the top 10.

Taylor fell back to 12th after a mistake in the closing stages of the race.

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 18m45.179s (12 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +6.398s
3 Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +7.209s
4 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +9.509s
5 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +9.857s
6 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +10.066s
7 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +10.476s
8 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing/In2Racing +12.637s
9 Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +12.784s
10 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +13.141s
11 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +13.420s
12 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +15.523s
13 Roman Bilinski 55 Privateer +22.263s
14 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +22.751s
15 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +32.934s
16 Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +35.256s
17 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +35.702s
18 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +37.162s
19 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +54.874s
20 HaythamQarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +56.467s
21 Charlie McLeod 37 In2Racing +1m09.378s
22 Ben Kasperczak 35 In2Racing +1m09.745s
23 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +1 Lap
DNF Freddie Tomlinson 62 In2Racing +2 laps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close