Martin wins delayed Croft race

Will Martin held off a last lap attack from James Hedley to win the delayed Ginetta Junior championship race at Croft.

The Richardson Racing driver snatched the race lead heading into the first corner, but pole sitter Headly and team-mate Casper Stevenson kept him under pressure. Stevenson followed Hedley past, making it a Richardson Racing 1-2 before an early safety car, brought out when Ben O’Hare ran into the barriers at the end of the opening lap.

The top three stayed together on the restart, with James Taylor soon joining them to make it a four way fight for the lead. Taylor briefly passed championship leader James Hedley for third, but the Elite Motorsport driver quickly regained the position before passing Stevenson in the closing stages of the race.

Hedley spent the final laps trying to find a way past Martin, but the Richardson Racing driver didn’t put a wheel wrong. Martin took his second win of the season, just 0.428s ahead of Hedley.

Stevenson held onto P3 ahead of Taylor, who fell away from the lead fight.

After a strong start to jump up to fifth, Gus Burton spent the race defending hard against Theo Edgerton and Zak O’Suillivan. The trio spent the race running nose to tail, but neither Edgerton nor O’Sullivan could find a way through. A mistake on the final lap dropped O’Sullivan back down the order, but Edgerton kept the pressure on Burton until the final lap.

Ethan Hawkey joined the fight for fifth in the closing stages of the race, moving up to seventh after O’Sullivan’s mistake.

O’Sullivcan took eighth, ahead of Ethan Brooks and Ben Kasperczak.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 18m07.734s (10 Laps)
2 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +0.428s
3 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +1.008s
4 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +5.044s
5 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +9.623s
6 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +9.875s
7 Ethan Hawkey 40 Total Control Racing +10.281s
8 Zak O’Sullivan 51 Douglas Motorsport +13.780s
9 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +19.191s
10 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +21.248s
11 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +24.543s
12 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +25.205s
13 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +30.530s
14 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +38.200s
15 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +41.576s
16 Will Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +44.545s
17 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +48.663s
18 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +1m31.982s
19 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +1 Lap
20 Roman Bilinski 55 Alastair Rushford Motorsport +1 Lap
DNF Tom Ward 17 Elite Motorsport +1 Lap
DNF Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +3 Laps
DNF Harry Dyson 20 Premiership Academy +3 Laps
DNF Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +5 Laps
DNF Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +10 Laps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close