Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Martin victorious in Snetterton opener

Martin victorious in Snetterton opener

by Bethonie Waring

Will Martin converted pole to victory in a safety car disrupted opening Ginetta Junior race at Snetterton.

The Richardson Racing driver immediately came under pressure from Zak O’Sullivan and a fast starting James Hedley.

He managed to keep hold of the lead through the first part of the opening lap but a move around the outside of Palmer allowed O’Sullivan to briefly snatch the lead.

The top three continued to battle, allowing those behind to close the gap to the lead fight. O’Sullivan briefly dropped back and, as he tried to reclaim the position, was pushed onto the grass and sent into a spin.

Martin reclaimed the lead as the safety car was brought out the clear an incident further down the field.

On the restarted, Hedley stuck to Martin’s tail and kept the pressure on the Richardson Racing driver before a mistake at Nelson forced Hedley to take to the escape road.

With Hedley falling down the order, Martin had a strong gap heading into the final lap. As Casper Stevenson and Gus Burton battled for second, neither could close the gap, and Martin was unchallenged as he claimed his fourth consecutive victory.

Stevenson and Burton were side-by-side as they took the chequered flag, just 0.09s separating the two.

After his off, O’Sullivan dropped back to P11. He managed to make up a handful of positions on the restart, moving up to ninth, before a stunning final lap put him fourth as he crossed the finish line.

Lorcan Hanafin finished fifth, ahead of Hedley and Ethan Hawkey.

Joel Pearson, James Taylor, and Ben Kasperczak completed the top 10.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 22m08.019s (8 Laps)
2 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +1.767s
3 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +1.857s
4 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +6.955s
5 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +7.796s
6 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +7.848s
7 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +8.019s
8 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +8.195s
9 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +8.676s
10 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +9.087s
11 Theo Edgerton 54 Total Control Racing +13.957s
12 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +14.448s
13 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +16.094s
14 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +17.449s
15 Roman Bilinski 55 Alastair Rushford Motorsport +17.748s
16 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +20.258s
17 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +20.888s
18 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +21.926s
19 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +22.041s
20 William Aspin 16 Elite Motorsport +22.222s
21 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +31.364s
DNF Aston Millar 70 R Racing +2 Laps
DNF Tom Ward 17 Elite Motorsport +7 Laps
DNF Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +7 Laps
DNF Nat Hodgkiss 59 Race Car Consultants +7 Laps


You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: