Martin beats O’Sullivan in race 3 battle

Will Martin beats Zak O’Sullivan to victory after a close battle in the final Ginetta Junior race of the weekend at Thruxton.

The pair ran side by side on a number of occasions, swapping places almost every lap in the second half of the race.

O’Sullivan had the advantage off the line, leading Martin and championship leader James Hedley in the three-way battle for the lead. Hedley pulled off with an apparently mechanical problem early in the race, leaving his title rivals to battle for the win as he scored his first retirement of the year.

Martin kept the pressure on O’Sullivan, pulling alongside the R Racing driver. The pair made contact as they battled for position, with Martin briefly taking to the grass, but both were able to continue without any significant damage.

The pair were still side by side as they started the final lap, but Martin was just able to pull ahead of O’Sullivan to take the chequered flag 0.242s ahead.

It was an equally close battle for third, with Gus Burton and Lorcan Hanafin side-by-side on the final lap. Burton edged ahead of Hanafin to take third, with Casper Stevenson close behind in fifth.

Josh Rattican took sixth, ahead of Tom Emson and Ethan Hawkey, who had been battling at the sharp end of the field early in the race.

James Taylor and Bailey Voisin completed the top 10.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 18m52.153s (12 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +0.242s
3 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +2.848s
4 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +3.604s
5 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +3.707s
6 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +6.314s
7 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +8.505s
8 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +8.972s
9 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +9.444s
10 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +24.514s
11 Joel Pearson 29 Elite Motorsport +25.005s
12 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +27.927s
13 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +32.193s
14 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +33.608s
15 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +34.234s
16 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +36.316s
17 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +42.383s
DNF Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushford Motorsport +1 Lap
DNF James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +8 Laps



1 thought on “Martin beats O’Sullivan in race 3 battle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close