Hedley takes second Knockhill victory

James Hedley bounced back from a difficult opening lap to take his second race win of the weekend at Knockhill.

The championship leader started from the front row of the grid, but fell back behind Casper Stevenson and Zak O’Sullivan off the line.

After a safety car period – brought out for a multicar collision further back in the field – Hedley started the gradual climb up through the order.

Pole sitter Will Martin struggled on the restart, dropping back to fourth and putting Stevenson in the race lead. As O’Sullivan and Stevenson battled for the lead, Hedley switched between defending against Martin and closing the small gap to the leaders.

Martin dropped backwards over the grass after contat with Hedley, and the Elite Motorsport driver was free to chase the leaders.

Hedley pulled alongside O’Sullivan in the closing stages of the race, snatching the position on the start finish straight and closing the gap to Stevenson.

The championship leader dived past Stevenson at the start of the penultimate lap, with O’Sullivan following him through the following lap.

Hedley finished just 0.445s ahead of O’Sullivan to take his sixth win of the season.

James Taylor made a move around the outside of Butcher’s to take fourth on the final lap, finishing ahead of Gus Burton and Tom Emson.

Joel Pearson took seventh ahead of Martin, Josh Rattican, and Ethan Hawkey.

Image Credit: Caroline Rhea

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport 20m07.363s  (17 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +0.445s
3 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +1.166s
4 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +1.360s
5 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +2.543s
6 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +2.721s
7 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +2.922s
8 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +6.255s
9 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +9.530s
10 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +9.733s
11 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +9.802s
12 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +13.546s
13 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +23.336s
14 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +26.712s
DNF Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +2 Laps
DNF Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +16 Laps
DNF Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +16 Laps
DNF Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +16 Laps
DNF Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +17 Laps



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close