Home Knockhill 2019 Martin beats Hedley in disrupted Knockhill qualifying

Martin beats Hedley in disrupted Knockhill qualifying

by Bethonie Waring

Will Martin topped a disrupted Ginetta Junior qualifying session at Knockhill.

The red flag was brought out twice during the session, which ended early when Haytham Qarajouli beached his Ginetta with 1m09s on the clock.

Zak O’Sullivan set the pace early, before dropping to second as Martin lapped the short Knockhill circuit 0.026s quicker.

The R Racing driver jumped back to the top after a brief safety car period – brought out by Bailey Voisin – but dropped back to third as Martin and championship leader James Hedley found improvements.

Martin and Hedley spent the second half of the session swapping times at the top of the order, lowering the benchmark to 1m01.224s before the final red flag.

Hedley ended the session 0.178s behind Martin, with OSullivan a further 0.062s back.

Casper Stevenson was fourth quickest ahead of Gus Burton and Ethan Hawkey.

James Taylor, Tom Emson, Ben Kasperczak and Josh Rattican completed the top 10.

Image Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Name Number Team Time
Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 1m01.224s
James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport 1m01.402s
Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing 1m01.464s
Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing 1m01.742s
Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport 1m01.770s
Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing 1m01.815s
James Taylor 66 Elite Motorsport 1m02.027s
Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport 1m02.113s
Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing 1m02.141s
Josh Rattican 21 R Racing 1m02.292s
Joel Pearson 29 R Racing 1m02.358s
Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing 1m02.360s
Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport 1m02.385s
Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing 1m02.541s
Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport 1m03.088s
Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy 1m03.620s
Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport 1m03.721s
Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport 1m03.921s
Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy 1m04.480s

Second Fastest Times

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: