Hedley takes Knockhill hat-trick to extend championship lead

James Hedley converted pole to victory to take a hat-trick of Ginetta Junior wins at Knockhill.

The championship leader spent most of the race defending against Zak O’Sullivan, running alongside the R Racing driver on a number of occasions. O’Sulliavn was forced onto the gravel more than once, but stayed in control of his car and kept the pressure on Hedley.

Lorcan Hanafin, who enjoyed a storming race from 12th on the grid, managed to snatch second from O’Sullivan in the closing stages of the race. He kept the pressure on Hedley while O’Sullivan battled with Gus Burton for the final podium position, but Hedley didn’t put a wheel wrong.

The championship leader finished 0.199s ahead of Hanafin, with O’Sulliavn a further 2.5s behind.

Title contender Will Martin suffered another disappointing race. The Richardson Racing driver had been making up positions before he span into the gravel late on. He managed to keep the car moving and pitted, returning to the track a lap down at the back of the order.

The result moves Hedley 78 points ahead of O’Sullivan with just two rounds remaining, with Martin a further 104 points back.

Gus Burton took fourth ahead of Ethan Hawkey.

James Taylor spent the early stages of the race leading a five way fight for what was at the time fourth. Burton and Hanafin both found a way past the Elite Motorsport driver, but he managed to keep Joel Pearson and Ethan Hawkey behind him to take sixth.

Tom Emson recovered to seventh after a wide moment over the gravel early in the race, finishing just ahead of Pearson and Ben Kasperczak, who pipped Casper Stevenson to ninth on the final lap.

Stevenson, who had been battling at the sharp end of the field early on, dropped back to 10th to brind an end to a disappointing weekend.

Image Credit: Caroline Rhea

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport 16m44.022s (16 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +2.520s
3* James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +2.601s
4 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +2.886s
5 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +3.164s
6 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +3.896s
7 Tom Emson 27 Elite Motorsport +4.459s
8 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +5.549s
9 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +6.151s
10 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +7.871s
11 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +19.220s
12 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +19.489s
13 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +26.930s
14 Frankie Taylor 32 SVG Motorsport +27.266s
15 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +31.785s
16 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +41.902s
17 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +47.456s
18 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +50.638s
19 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +1 Lap

*Hedley was later handed a 2.8s penalty, dropping him behind O’Sullivan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close