Martin victorious as Hedley spins

Will Martin returned to the top step of the Ginetta Junior podium at Silverstone as championship leader James Hedley span on the opening lap.

Lorcan Hanafin took the chequered flag first on track, but was handed a five second penalty for exceeding track limits, dropping him off the podium.

Hedley started from pole but immedietly came under pressure from Ethan Brooks and Burton. The Elite Motorsport driver dropped back to third before making contact with another driver and spinning.

A number of drivers ran wide to avoid the incident and Hedley dropped down the order, but was able to continue.

The drama ahead allowed Zak O’Sullivan, who had started down the order, to join Martin, Hanafin and Burton in the battle for what was second.

Brooks, whose best finish in the championship was a seventh place at Thruxton, had a small gap at the front of the field, but ran into the gravel at high speed, bringing an early end to his race.

The incident moved Martin into the race lead, but Burton and Hanafin were able to both pass the Richardson Racing driver.

Hanafin led Burton over the line, but both drivers dropped backwards after penalties were applied, allowing Martin to take his first victory since Thruxton.

O’Sullivan took second ahead of James Taylor, who fell backwards on the opening lap and put in a strong recovery drive.

Hanafin took fourth, ahead of Aston Millar and Gus Burton.

Ben Kasperczak took seventh overall on track, but was handed a 1 second time penalty and dropped back to ninth, promoting Haytham Qarajouli onto the rookie podium. Josh Rattican also benefited, finishing P8.

Casper Stevenson rounded out the top 10, while Hedley finished 17th.

Image Credit: Caroline Rhea

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 13m21.198s (11 Laps)
2 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +0.335s
3 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +0.759s
4 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +2.599s
5 Aston Millar 70 R Racing +2.986s
6 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +4.818s
7 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +7.570s
8 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +8.121s
9 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +8.514s
10 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +8.695s
11 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +9.763s
12 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +12.713s
13 Frankie Taylor 32 Team HARD +18.089s
14 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +19.714s
15 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +20.666s
16 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +21.921s
17 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +22.645s
18 Suleiman Zanfari 52 Elite Motorsport +25.731s
19 Dan Gale 68 Total Control Racing +38.875s
20 Kieran Fuller 88 Privateer +45.024s
21 Zak Taylor 23 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +1m01.634s
DNF Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +6 Laps
DNF Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +11 Laps


3 thoughts on “Martin victorious as Hedley spins

  1. any email to contact you ?


    1. Hi, you can get in contact via form on the PR Opportunities page!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close