Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship Hedley on pole for season finale

Hedley on pole for season finale

by Bethonie Waring

James Hedley starts as he means to go on with double pole position for the 2019 Ginetta Junior championship season finale.

Hedley once again pipped Ethan Brooks to the top of the times with his final lap of the session, setting a 1m54.411s lap around the Brands Hatch GP circuit.

The pole earns Hedley another point, extending his championship lead over Zak O’Sullivan to 70 points.

O’Sullivan, the only driver who can stop Hedley taking the title, will start the opening lap of the weekend from seventh.

Hedley topped the times early in the session before Gus Burton stopped  on track with nine minutes remaining, bringing out the red flags.

When action resumed, Brooks and Lorcan Hanafin both lowered the fastest lap, before Hedley jumped back to the top of the order with time 0.250s quicker than Hanafin.

Aston Millar came to a stop in the second sector with three minutes left on the clock, bringing out the second red flag of the session.

With time only for one more quick lap, times plummeted in the final part of the session, with James Taylor, Will Martin, and Brooks all briefly taking provisional pole before Hedley jumped back up the order with his final lap.

Brooks finished second, 0.284s slower than Hedley.

Gale and Hanafin occupy the second row of the grid, ahead of Martin, Taylor, and O’Sullivan.

Joel Pearson, Haytham Qarajouli, and Ethan Hawkey completed the top 10.

Image Credit: Caroline Rhea

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Name Number Team Time
James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport 1m54.441s
Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing 1m54.695s
Dan Gale 68 Total Control Racing 1m54.743s
Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport 1m54.868s
Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 1m55.020s
James Taylor 66 Elite Motorsport 1m55.148s
Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing 1m55.504s
Joel Pearson 29 R Racing 1m55.541s
Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing 1m55.834s
Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing 1m56.053s
Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing 1m56.129s
Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing 1m56.172s
Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport 1m56.332s
Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy 1m57.707s
Josh Rattican 21 R Racing 1m57.731s
Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport 1m57.873s
Aston Millar 70 R Racing 1m57.970s
Frankie Taylor 32 Team HARD 1m59.257s
Nat Hodgkiss 59 Race Car Consultants 1m59.768s
Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport 1m59.972s
Suleiman Zanfari 52 Elite Motorsport 2m00.170s
Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport 2m01.440s
Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy 2m01.827s

Second Fastest Times

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: