Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Championship James Hedley 2019 Ginetta Junior Champion

James Hedley 2019 Ginetta Junior Champion

by Bethonie Waring

James Hedley claimed the 2019 Ginetta Junior championship in style with victory in the opening race of the weekend at Brands Hatch.

The Elite Motorsport driver put in a near-faultless drive from pole to take win number seven of the season and build an unsurmountable lead over Zak O’Sullivan.

O’Sullivan spent the race battling with Will Martin and Lorcan Hanafin for fourth, eventually coming home P5, but it wasn’t enough to keep the championship alive.

Ethan Brooks, who qualified second, made a strong start in the wet conditions, pulling alongside Hedley on approach to the first corner. Hedley held onto the position, but almost lost control of the car after dipping a wheel onto the kerbs at Paddock Hill Bend. The Ginetta started to spin but Hedley regained control and kept the car ahead of the rest of the field.

Further back, Daniel Gale and Haytham Qarajouli weren’t as lucky. Both span into the gravel, before Casper Stevenson and Joel Pearson came together later on the lap, bringing out the safety car.

James Taylor, who had snatched second from Brooks on the opening lap, challenged Hedley on the restart, but the championship leader stayed in control of the race.

Taylor kept the pressure on his team-mate, but Hedley gave him no opportunity to make a move.

In the closing stages of the race, the biggest danger to Hedley’s race came when Ben Kasperczak, who has spun twice early in the race, span again infront of the lead battle. Both drivers were able to avoid and Hedley came home 0.718s ahead of his team-mate.

Martin claimed third from Brooks on the final lap, but the Scholarship winner stayed ahead of O’Sullivan to take his first rookie win.

Hanafin finished sixth, ahead of Gus Burton, who climbed up from the back of the grid after an off in qualifying meant he couldn’t set a competitive laptime.

Ethan Hawkey, Josh Rattican, and Ben O’Hare completed the top 10.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport 16m19.795s (7 Laps)
2 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +0.718s
3 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +1.774s
4 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +2.100s
5 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +2.737s
6 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +5.896s
7 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +10.649s
8 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +11.077s
9 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +13.535s
10 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +15.337s
11 Aston Millar 70 R Racing +18.515s
12 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +22.504s
13 Nat Hodgkiss 59 Race Car Consultants +39.938s
14 Frankie Taylor 32 Team HARD +39.991s
15 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +40.505s
16 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +44.682s
17 Suleiman Zanfari 52 Elite Motorsport +52.886s
18 Zak Taylor 23 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +1 Lap
DNF Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +2 Laps
DNF Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +3 Laps
DNF Dan Gale 68 Total Control Racing +7 Laps
DNF Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +7 Laps
DNF Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +7 Laps


You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: