Hanafin wins penultimate race in fading light

Lorcan Hanafin won a safety car disrupted penultimate race of the 2019 Ginetta Junior championship in fading light.

The Douglas Motorsport driver started from pole and managed to stay on track despite treacherous conditions at Brands Hatch.

After a late safety car period, racing resumed with two laps remaining. Hanafin was forced to go on the defence as Scholarship winner Ethan Brooks tried to continue his charge up through the field.

Brooks had been fifth when the final safety car of the day was called, but a strong restart allowed him to pull alongside Hanafin in the closing laps.

James Taylor made it a three-way fight for the lead on the final laps, but Hanafin just managed to hold onto the lead. He finished 0.134s ahead of Taylor, with Brooks a further 0.122s back.

Racing was halted before the end of the opening lap, when Frankie Taylor ran into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend, prompting a safety car. Almost immediately after racing resumed, another driver – this time Josh Rattican – ran off at the same corner, resulting in another extended safety car period.

As the leaders were battling for the lead, a number of drivers came together on the final lap. Zak O’Sullivan and Will Martin had been battling for fifth when they came together, bringing an early end to both driver’s races and forcing Martin to miss the final race of the season. Haytham Qarajouli and Aston Millar were also caught up in the incident.

Joel Pearson came through to finish fourth, ahead of champion-elect James Hedley and Gus Burton, who managed another strong drive from the back of the grid after crashing out of qualifying.

Ben O’Hare recorded his best result of the season in P7, ahead of Bailey Voisin, Zak Taylor, and Ethan Hawkey.

Zak Taylor was later handed a 1.5 second penalty, dropping him back to 11th and promoting Casper Stevenson into the top 10.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more detail

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport 21m07.246s (8 Laps)
2 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +0.134s
3 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +0.256s
4 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +1.994s
5 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +2.301s
6 Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +2.251s
7 Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +3.026s
8 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +5.662s
9 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +7.846s
10 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +8.415s
11 Zak Taylor 23 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +8.647s
12 Dan Gale 68 Total Control Racing +16.308s
13 Suleiman Zanfari 52 Elite Motorsport +20.279s
14 Nat Hodgkiss 59 Race Car Consultants +25.127s
15 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +32.501s
16 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +41.603s
17 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +48.790s
DNF Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +1 Lap
DNF Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing +1 Lap
DNF Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +1 Lap
DNF Aston Millar 70 R Racing +1 Lap
DNF Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +5 Laps
DNF Frankie Taylor 32 Team HARD +8 Laps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close