Martin wins Ginetta Junior season finale

Will Martin bounced back from a retirement to take victory from the final Ginetta Junior race of the season.

The Richardson Racing driver had intended not to drive Sunday’s race at Brands Hatch after severe damage to his Ginetta following a crash at the end of race two. The team worked hard overnight to repair the car for the season finale, in which he would start 10th.

Lorcan Hanafin led for most of the race, handling multiple safety car restarts, but came under pressure from Martin, James Hedley, and Ethan Brooks late in the race.

Brooks briefly snatched the lead after Martin ran wide and Hanafin was delayed, but Hanafin soon pulled back alongside him to retake the position. Brooks was stuck on the outside as Hanafin, Hedley, and Martin all ran nose-to-tail past the scholarship winner.

Martin made his way past Hedley on what would become the final lap at Paddock Hill Bend, before taking Hanafin on his way into druids.

Racing would be cut short four laps before the chequered flag when Ben O’Hare, who enjoyed a fantastic start and was briefly running fourth, made contact with Joel Pearson. O’Hare was sent into a spin, collecting Daniel Gale and leaving them both stranded on the track.

The safety car was called out for the third time, but the race was red flagged, bringing an early end to the season.

Hanafin held onto second, finishing just ahead of Ethan Brooks.

Hedley dropped back to fifth on the final lap, with Ethan Hawkey passing the champion elect to finish fifth.

Taylor took sixth, ahead of Zak O’Sullivan – who climbed up from the back of the field – and Casper Stevenson.

Hayatham Qarajouli avoided drama on the opening lap after running slightly wide. Ahead of him in the gravel, Molly Dodd managed a half-spin before returning to the track, covering Qarajouli’s car in mud.

The Total Control Racing driver was able to continue to finish ninth, as Josh Rattican rounded out the top 10.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Will Martin 10 Richardson Racing 16m36.210s (7 Laps)
2 Lorcan Hanafin 23 Douglas Motorsport +0.581s
3 Ethan Brooks 86 Total Control Racing +1.314s
4 Ethan Hawkey 40 Richardson Racing +1.987s
5 James Hedley 67 Elite Motorsport +2.985s
6 James Taylor 66 Richardson Racing +3.625s
7 Zak O’Sullivan 51 R Racing +4.000s
8 Casper Stevenson 25 Richardson Racing +5.286s
9 Haytham Qarajouli 75 Total Control Racing +6.785s
10 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +8.354s
11 Bailey Vosin 22 Douglas Motorsport +9.295s
12 Aston Millar 70 R Racing +9.849s
13 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +11.564s
14 Nat Hodgkiss 59 Race Car Consultants +12.375s
15 Frankie Taylor 32 Team HARD +12.828s
16 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +18.113s
17 Suleiman Zanfari 52 Elite Motorsport +18.606s
18 Ben Kasperczak 35 BK Racing +21.013s
19 Molly Dodd 47 Premiership Academy +21.596s
DNF Ben O’Hare 95 Premiership Academy +1 Lap
DNF Dan Gale 68 Total Control Racing +1 Lap
DNF Gus Burton 57 Douglas Motorsport +4 Laps
DNF Zak Taylor 23 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +7 Laps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close