Home News2020 Ginetta Junior Championship Tom Lebbon crowned 2020 Ginetta Junior Scholarship winner

Tom Lebbon crowned 2020 Ginetta Junior Scholarship winner

by Bethonie Waring

Tom Lebbon has been selected as the 2020 Ginetta Junior Scholarship winner after a three-day selection process at Blyton Park.

More than 60 young drivers were invited to compete for the Scholarship, a prize which includes entry into next year’s championship and a Ginetta branded suit.

Drivers were put through their paces in driving, fitness, and media tasks. A number of former Ginetta Junior drivers, including BTCC’s Jake Hill and WEC driver Charlie Robertson, were on hand to help with the assessments.

After the first two days, 25 drivers were invited back to today’s final day, and were gradually whittled down to five drivers.

Lebbon was joined by Alex Dunne, Dan Morris, Will Jenkins, and Tommy Pintos in the final stage of the event.

The 14-year-old from Culford will make the step up from kart racing. He was previously a BMR Junior and has enjoyed success on the national and international stage.

Lebbon has free choice of which team he will compete with in 2020. 2019 Scholarship winner Ethan Brooks spent the season racing with Total Control Racing, but Richardson Racing, Elite Motorsport, and Douglas Motorsport have all run scholarship winners in recent years.

Image credit: Ginetta

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: