Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Winter Series James Taylor tops Day One qualifying

James Taylor tops Day One qualifying

by Bethonie Waring

James Taylor takes pole for the first day of the 2019 Ginetta Junior Winter Series at Brands Hatch.

Taylor topped the times early in the session, becoming the first driver to set a time under 1m05s around the Brands Hatch Indy circuit.

Taylor, racing with Elite Motorsport, continued to find improvements throughout the session, lowering the bar until he became the only driver to go quicker than 1m04s.

He ended the morning with a 1m03.781s lap, which put him on pole by more than 0.6s.

Aston Millar and Daniel Gale spent the early part of the session swapping places in P2, before Alastair Rushforth Motorsport driver Zak Taylor joined the battle at the front of the field.

Millar ended the morning second quickest and the fastest rookie, despite having a lap time deleted for exceeding track limits.

Joel Pearson took third ahead of Gale.

Elite Motorsport driver Ben Kasperczak brought an early end to the session when he ran into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend. He’d been gradually improving throughout the 15 minutes, ending the morning sixth quickest.

Bailey Voisin and Freddie Tomlinson finished seventh and eighth, ahead of Tom Edgar and 2020 Scholarship winner Tom Lebbon. 

William Aspin was the final runner, finishing 11th overall.

Despite being on the initial entry list, Josh Rattican, Ben O’Hare, and Frankie Taylor were missing from the session.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Name Number Team Time
James Taylor 66 Elite Motorsport 1m03.781s
Aston Millar 70 R Racing 1m04.424s
Joel Pearson 29 R Racing 1m04.609s
Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport 1m04.632s
Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing 1m04.694s
Ben Kasperczak 35 Elite Motorsport 1m04.974s
Bailey Voisin 22 R Racing 1m05.068s
Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport 1m05.608s
Tom Edgar 52 Douglas Motorsport 1m06.123s
Tom Lebbon 34 Elite Motorsport 1m06.657s
William Aspin 16 Elite Motorsport 1m07.523s

Second Fastest Times

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: