Home News2019 Ginetta Junior Winter Series Taylor wins Winter Series opener

Taylor wins Winter Series opener

by Bethonie Waring

James Taylor claimed a lights-to-flag victory in the opening race of the 2019 Ginetta Junior Winter Series.

The Elite Motorsport driver managed a strong start from pole and was unchallenged throughout the race.

Taylor had already built a gap to the rest of the field after the opening laps when Zak Taylor and Bailey Voisin ran into the gravel at Clearways, bringing out the safety car.

Joel Pearson was brought onto the race leaders tail but, on the restart, had to focus on defending against the strong starting Ben Kasperczak, allowing Taylor to pull away once more.

Taylor continued to build his advantage while Kasperczak, Pearson, and Daniel Gale battled for second, ending the race 4.606s ahead of the next driver.

Kasperczak snatched second from Pearson heading into Clearways but the R Racing driver fought back, briefly pulling alongside Kaserczak before falling back.

The pair came together at Graham Hill Bend, sending Pearson into a spin and allowing Gale through to snatch second.

Kasperczak was able to continue and chased after Gale and was on the Total Control Racing driver’s tail when they took the chequered flag.

After a poor start, Aston Millar finished fourth overall and took the top rookie spot, ahead of Tom Lebbon and Pearson.

Both Pearson and Kasperczak were called to the stewards after the race for the incident.

Tom Edgar, Freddie Tomlinson, and William Aspin were the last of the finishers.

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 James Taylor 66 Elite Motorsport 15m52.713s (13 Laps)
2 Daniel Gale 68 Total Control Racing +4.606s
3 Ben Kasperczak 35 Elite Motorsport +4.733s
4 Aston Millar 70 R Racing +5.640s
5 Tom Lebbon 34 Elite Motorsport +11.432s
6 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +12.693s
7 Tom Edgar 52 Douglas Motorsport +18.499s
8 Freddie Tomlinson 62 Douglas Motorsport +21.999s
9 William Aspin 16 Elite Motorsport +22.094s
DNF Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +12 Laps
DNF Bailey Voisin 22 R Racing +12 Laps

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: