Home News2020 Ginetta Junior Championship Voisin claims maiden victory in 2020 opener

Voisin claims maiden victory in 2020 opener

by Bethonie Waring
Bailey Voisin

Bailey Voisin made good on a strong preseason to take his first win in car racing in the opening round of the 2020 Ginetta Junior championship.

Voisin jumped past pole sitter Tom Lebbon off the line to take the race lead. Immedietly, he was joined by team-mates Joel Pearson and Josh Rattican, as well as Richardson Racing rookie Georgi Dimitrov in the battle for the lead.

The group swapped positions multiple times over the opening laps as Lebbon was shuffled backwards, but it was Voisin leading Rattican when the safety car was brough out midway through the race.

Racing resumed for a two lap shoot out, but Voisin was able to hold off the chasing pack to take the victory.

Lebbon was the man on the move at the restart. The scholarship winner was fifth when the safety car was brought out, having been briefly shuffled back to seventh, but was able to stick with the leaders when racing resumed. In a stunning final lap, Lebbon passed Pearson, Rattican and Dimitrov to take second and the rookie victory.

Dimitrov completed the podium, 0.250s behind Lebbon in P3.

Despite the strong start, Rattican and Pearson could only manage fourth and fifth ahead of William Vincent and Aston Millar.

Tommy Pintos enjoyed a good climb up the order. After starting 11th, the Elite Motorsport driver – who missed most of preseason testing – was spun around and dropped to the back of the field. He spent the remainder of the race making up positions to eventually finish P12.

Tom Edgar, Josh Miller and Zak Taylor completed the top 10.

Image credit: Ginetta/Jakob Ebrey Photography

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details


Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Bailey Voisin 22 R Racing 15m32.618s (10 Laps)
2 Tom Lebbon 34 Elite Motorsport +0.415s
3 Georgi Dimitrov 23 Richardson Racing +0.665s
4 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +0.874s
5 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +1.039s
6 William Vincent 46 Elite Motorsport +1.271s
7 Aston Millar 70 R Racing +1.356s
8 Tom Edgar 52 Total Control Racing +1.520s
9 Josh Miller 14 Elite Motorsport +2.086s
10 Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +2.265s
11 Will Jenkins 30 Privateer +3.791s
12 Tommy Pintos 77 Elite Motorsport +7.186s
13 Freddie Tomlinson 62 R Racing +9.630s
14 William Aspin 16 Elite Motorsport +11.696s
15 William Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +12.144s
16 Rowan Vincent 19 Richardson Racing +13.435s
17 Joe Wheeler 88 Assetto Motorsport +17.517s
18 Liam McNeilly 48 Fox Motorsport +19.985s
19 Trennon Bettany 41 Richardson Racing +23.980s
DNF Seb Hopkins 18 Elite Motorsport +6 Laps

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: