Home News2020 Ginetta Junior Championship Voisin and Dimitrov share poles at Knockhill

Voisin and Dimitrov share poles at Knockhill

by Bethonie Waring

Bailey Voisin is on top again in qualifying for the first Ginetta Junior race of the weekend.

The R Racing driver secured his third pole of the season in a disrupted qualifying session after Trennon Bettany brought out the red flags five minutes in.

Most of the field had managed to complete their first flying lap around the Scottish circuit when Bettany ran off at McIntyre, making contact with the barrier and damaging the front of his car.

Aston Millar was top of the order ahead of scholarship winner Tom Lebbon and Georgie Dimitrov.

Dimitrov was immedietly back on pace when the track turned green, lowering the benchmark to 1m02.074s.

The Richardson Racing driver improved again but it wasn’t enough to keep him on pole as Voisin jumped up to P1 with a 1m01.613s in the closing stages of the session.

Dimitrov’s consistent lap times was enough to put him on pole for the second race of the weekend. He lines up alongside Josh Rattican and just ahead of Joel Pearson, while Voisin could only manage sixth.

Lebbon managed a number of quick sectors but was unable to string a complete lap together to challenge at the front of the order and had to settle for sixth, just 0.385s off Voisin’s fastest time.

R Racing’s Pearson, Millar and Rattican took third through to fifth.

Tom Edgar qualified seventh head of Will Jenkins and Zak Taylor.

Image credit: Ginetta/Jakob Ebrey Photography

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Name Number Team Time
Bailey Voisin 22 R Racing 1m01.613
Georgi Dimitrov 23 Richardson Racing 1m01.732
Joel Pearson 29 R Racing 1m01.785
Aston Millar 70 R Racing 1m01.876
Josh Rattican 21 R Racing 1m01.917
Tom Lebbon 34 Elite Motorsport 1m01.998
Tom Edgar 52 Total Control Racing 1m02.007
Will Jenkins 30 Privateer 1m02.321
Seb Hopkins 18 Elite Motorsport 1m02.341
Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport 1m02.375
William Rochford 11 Total Control Racing 1m02.381
Freddie Tomlinson 62 R Racing 1m02.381
William Vincent 46 Elite Motorsport 1m02.641
Tommy Pintos 77 Elite Motorsport 1m02.711
Josh Miller 14 Elite Motorsport 1m02.731
William Aspin 16 Elite Motorsport 1m02.767
Liam McNeilly 48 Fox Motorsport 1m02.905
Trennon Bettany 41 Richardson Racing 1m03.080
Rowan Vincent 19 Richardson Racing 1m03.174
Joe Wheeler 88 Assetto Motorsport 1m03.432

2nd Fastest Times

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: