Dimitrov victorious at Knockhill

Georgie Dimitrov controlled a safety car restart on his way to his third win of the season at Knockhill.

Dimitrov got a good get away and was setting about extending a gap to the rest of the field when the safety car was brought out at the end of lap two.

Further down the order, Liam McNeilly had spun coming out of McIntyre and causing those behind him to take avoiding action. Freddie Tomlinson and Rowan Vincent ran through the gravel at Butcher’s to avoid collecting the Fox Motorsport run car. Vincent was able to continue, though made his way back to the pits to clear the gravel from his car, but Tomlinson became stranded, prompting the safety car.

On the restart, second placed Joel Pearson was able to stay close behind Dimitrov before a wide moment sent him through the gravel and he dropped down to eighth.

Dimitrov spent the rest of the race in a race of his own, taking the chequered flag more than two seconds clear of the rest of the field.

Millar was promoted to second after Pearson’s off, but the fast moving Josh Rattican soon took the position. In the closing stages of the race, Rattican had better pace than the race leader, but was too far back to challenge for the victory.

He took second ahead of Miller and Tom Lebbon.

Lebbon spent the second half of the race in a battle to stay ahead of the R Racing duo of Joel Pearson and Bailey Voisin. Voisin was the first to put hip a fight, but a small mistake as he tried to make a move on the Scholarship winner brought him back into the clutches of Will Jenkins.

As Jenkins dropped back, Voisin attempted another move, pulling alongside Lebbon. Lebbon was able to hold on and Pearson was brought into the fight to make it a three way fight for the position.

Pearson attempted to stream past both drivers at once, but couldn’t quite get his nose ahead of Lebbon and slotted into fifth before Voisin retook the position in the closing stages of the race.

Jenkins was forced to defend against Tom Edgar in the final laps. He had just about held off the Total Control Racing driver when Edgar ran off at Clark on the final lap.

Jenkins came home seventh, making up for a disappointing race one when he was forced off after a strong drive at the front of the order.

Zak Taylor took eighth after a difficult start to the race, ahead of Seb Hopkins and Tommy Pintos.

Image credit: Richardson Racing/Jakob Ebrey Photography

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

Position Name Number Team Time/Gap
1 Georgi Dimitrov 23 Richardson Racing 20m32.204s (18 Laps)
2 Josh Rattican 21 R Racing +2.105s
3 Aston Millar 70 R Racing +2.871s
4 Tom Lebbon 34 Elite Motorsport +11.421s
5 Bailey Voisin 22 R Racing +11.584s
6 Joel Pearson 29 R Racing +13.015s
7 Will Jenkins 30 Privateer +15.857s
8 Zak Taylor 99 Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +16.193s
9 Seb Hopkins 18 Elite Motorsport +19.128s
10 Tommy Pintos 77 Elite Motorsport +19.317s
11 Trennon Bettany 41 Richardson Racing +19.558s
12 William Rochford 11 Total Control Racing +20.052s
13 Liam McNeilly 48 Fox Motorsport +21.807s
14 Josh Miller 14 Elite Motorsport +24.386s
15 William Aspin 16 Elite Motorsport +28.671s
16 Joe Wheeler 88 Assetto Motorsport +36.741s
17 William Vincent 46 Elite Motorsport +54.946s
18 Rowan Vincent 19 Richardson Racing +2 Laps
DNF Tom Edgar 52 Total Control Racing +1 Lap
DNF Freddie Tomlinson 62 R Racing +17 Laps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close