Freddie Slater takes pole for 2023 opener

R Racing’s Freddie Slater takes pole position for the first race of the 2023 Ginetta Junior Championship. 

Slater – who was crowned the 2022 Ginetta Junior Winter Series champion last November – topped the times with his first flying lap. The R Racing driver was just 0.567s ahead of fellow rookie Charlie Hart after the opening lap, but then found improvements on his second flying lap of the session. 

With purple sectors throughout the lap, Slater ended his second lap with a time of 2m00.958s, becoming the only driver to go sub 2m01s in the session. The time was 1.606s quicker than the time he managed in Friday practice, when he also went quicker than anybody. 

Slater was unable to improve on his final flying lap, losing fractions of a second in the second and third sector. Hart managed to close the gap to the pole sitter to just 0.502s, but remained second. 

Hugo Schwarze was third quickest ahead of Alisha Palmowski, the quickest returning driver.  

Finn Harrison starts fifth ahead of Reza Seewooruthun and Mikey Porter, both of which make their full season debuts after competing in the Winter Series. 

Luca Hopkinson, McKenzie Douglass and Tom Spragg complete the top 10, with Ginetta Junior Scholarship winner Chase Fernandez finishing P11. 

Image credit: Ginetta/Jakob Ebrey Photography

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

POS Driver Team Time
1 Freddie Slater R Racing 2m00.985s
2 Charlie Hart Elite Motorsport 2m01.487s
3 Hugo Schwarze Elite Motorsport 2m02.016s
4 Alisha Palmowski Elite Motorsport 2m02.218s
5 Finn Harrison Assetto Racing 2m02.283s
6 Reza Seewooruthun R Racing 2m02.291s
7 Mikey Porter R Racing 2m02.712s
8 Luca Hopkinson R Racing 2m02.842s
9 McKenzie Douglass Elite Motorsport 2m02.941s
10 Tom Spragg Preptech UK 2m03.223s
11 Chase Fernandez Assetto Racing 2m03.301s
12 Freddie Allum Elite Motorsport 2m04.412s
13 Edu Robinson R Racing 2m04.500s
14 Leo Robinson Alastair Rushforth Motorsport 2m04.605s
15 Felix Livesey Xentek Motorsport 2m04.702s
16 Brea Angliss Alastair Rushforth Motorsport 2m05.928s
17 Harry Moss Fox Motorsport 2m06.040s
18 Holly Maill Fox Motorsport 2m06.292s

Second Fastest Times


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close