Leo Robinson wins as 11 drivers earn penalties

Leo Robinson takes his first car racing victory in the final Ginetta Junior race of the weekend as 11 drivers receive track limit penalties. 

Among those was Freddie Slater, who took the chequered flag first but dropped back to third on the adjusted times. 

Robinson is the first driver other than Slater to win a race this season. 

The R Racing driver took the lead on the opening lap, having made a strong start from foruth on the grid. He was joined by Charlie Hart, Slater and Mikey Porter in a tight battle for the lead early on before Slater managed to find a way back through. 

Within half a lap of reaching the front, Slater had broken the tow to the battle behind him and began to break away. 

Initially it was a three car battle, with Robinson battling Porter and Reza Seewooruthun, but Hugo Schwarze and Alisha Palmowski soon joined the group.  

Despite the intense battle, the group were able to close in on Slater, with Robinson soon back in the tow of the championship leader.  

The top two were then able to break away from the rest of the field and extended a considerable gap before they resumed the battle for the lead. 

In the final laps, Robinson was able to get alongside Slater, making contact as they ran side-by-side. At the chequered flag, he was less than three tenths of a second behidn Slater, which meant he took the race win. 

Track limits had been abused by most of the field throughout the race. 11 of the 19 drivers were awarded five second time penalties, jumbling up the order after the chequered flag fell. 

Slater dropped back to third, behind Alisha Palmowski. Palmowski had moved to the front of the battle for third and had begun to break away a little in the final laps. 

Porter was fourth on track, but earned a penalty for track limts. That would have promoted Luca Hopkinson to fourth, but he had also earned a penalty. Instead, Schwarze took the position, ahead of Seewooruthun. Porter was classified sixth, ahead of Hopkinson and Henry Joslyn who avoided any penalties. 

Charlie Hart and Chase Fernandez both also received penalties and were classified ninth and 10th.  

Image credit: Ginetta/Jakob Ebrey Photography

PR available: Ginetta Junior Update writer Bethonie Waring is available to supply PR and communications services to Ginetta Junior drivers and racers in other selected series. Visit the PR Opportunities tab for more details

POS Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Leo Robinson R Racing 26m55.687s (10 Laps)
2 Alisha Palmowski Elite Motorsport +1.531s
3* Freddie Slater R Racing +4.712s
4 Hugo Schwarze Elite Motorsport +7.553s
5 Reza Seewooruthun R Racing +9.089s
6* Mikey Porter R Racing +9.428s
7* Luca Hopkinson R Racing +9.589s
8 Henry Joslyn Preptech UK +10.504s
9* Charlie Hart Elite Motorsport +12.656s
10* Chase Fernandez Assetto Racing +14.828s
11* Tom Spragg Preptech UK +15.596s
12* Finn Harrison Assetto Racing +18.437s
13* Freddie Allum Elite Motorsport +24.760s
14* Edu Robinson R Racing +28.413s
15 Harry Moss Fox Motorsport +31.693s
16* Felix Livesey Xentek Motorsport +36.277s
17* Brea Angliss Alastair Rushforth Motorsport +39.909s
18 Holly Miall Fox Motorsport +1m01.689s
DNF McKenzie Douglass Elite Motorsport +5 Laps

*5 Second penalty, exceeding track limits


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close